In Louisiana, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. The BAC limit for minors is .02 and for drivers of commercial vehicles the limit is .04 percent. The penalty for a first offense DUI/DWI is from ten days to six months in prison, plus a fine that will range from $300 to $1000. Louisiana’s DWI law also covers drugs such as marijuana, amphetamines, tranquilizers and barbiturates. The penalty for driving under the influence of drugs is the same as that of driving under the influence of alcohol.
A DWI/DUI charge can have serious implications for your personal freedom, not to mention your driving record and insurance rates. However, you can avoid having your life permanently affected by making sure you have solid legal representation through a DUI lawyer. New Orleans clients look to NOLA Criminal Law for help. In many cases, a skilled criminal defense attorney can negotiate a dismissal or reduction of the charges in DUI/DWI cases.
DUI/DWI in the New Orleans Area
It is possible for a DUI/DWI lawyer to negotiate a suspended prison sentence under the provisions of Article 894 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure, which can ultimately result in the dismissal of the charges and an opportunity to have your record expunged. This usually includes some AA meetings, community service, a driver improvement class, the payment of $300-500 fine, and probation for 6 months or less.
For a second offense DWI, the penalty increases: a minimum of thirty days in prison and a fine of at least $750. The maximum jail time for a second offense is six months, and your fine could be as much as $1,000. A third DUI/DWI offense is a felony. Third offense DUI/DWI offense involves a sentence of two to ten years in the Louisiana Department of Corrections. A fourth DWI offense carries a possible sentence of ten to thirty years in the Louisiana Department of Corrections.
Further Information About New Orleans Area DUI/DWI
For more information about what to do (and not to do) if you are arrested for a DUI/DWI, please see this post.
For more information about what happens in court when you are charged with a DUI/DWI, please click here.
And to read about the process of expunging a DUI/DWI arrest and conviction, click here.
When they need a DUI lawyer, New Orleans residents call NOLA Criminal Law at (504) 571-9529, or text at (504) 237-5245. You can also email us using the “Contact Me Now” link to the right of this page to discuss your DWI case. I promise your request will be answered immediately.